SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

Tuesday, January 16, 2024

THE COURT MADE THE FOLLOWING ANNOUNCEMENT:

MISCELLANEOUS RECORD

M.R.032055 In re: Supreme Court Pretrial Release Appeals Task Force

Whereas Public Act 101-652 and Public Act 102-1104 concerning pretrial release in criminal cases became effective on September 18, 2023;

And whereas the number of appeals from pretrial release decisions by the circuit courts have dramatically increased in the five districts of the Illinois Appellate Court;

And whereas the need for a comprehensive plan to address this matter with urgency is evident;

And whereas this Court exercises general administrative and supervisory authority over the courts of Illinois pursuant to Article VI, section 16 of the Illinois Constitution of 1970 (III. Const. 1970, art. VI, sec. 16);

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

- 1. The Supreme Court Pretrial Release Appeals Task Force is created.
- 2. The Task Force shall conduct a thorough review of pretrial release appeals and their impact on the caseloads in each of the five districts of the Illinois Appellate Court. The Task Force shall consult with any interested stakeholders, including, but not limited to the Office of the Attorney General, the Office of the State's Attorney Appellate Prosecutor, the Office of the State Appellate Defender, the offices of the five Appellate Court clerks; and the Illinois Appellate Lawyers Association.
- 3. The Task Force shall hold its first meeting within fourteen (14) days of the filing of this order.
- The Task Force shall issue a report of its findings and recommendations to the Supreme Court within forty-five (45) days of the filing of this order.

5. Effective immediately, and until further order of the Court, the following individuals are appointed members of the Supreme Court Pretrial Release Appeals Task Force:

Hon. Mark M. Boie Appellate Court Justice Fifth Judicial District 14 & Main Street Mt. Vernon, IL 62864

Hon. Eugene Doherty Appellate Court Justice Fourth Judicial District 201 W. Monroe Street Springfield, IL 62704

Hon. David W. Ellis Appellate Court Justice First Judicial District 160 N. LaSalle Street Chicago, IL 60601

Hon. Margaret J. Mullen Appellate Court Justice Second Judicial District 55 Symphony Way Elgin, IL 60120

Hon. Lance R. Petersen Appellate Court Justice Third Judicial District 1004 Columbus Street Ottawa, IL 61350

6. Hon. Eugene Doherty shall serve as chairperson of the Supreme Court Pretrial Release Appeals Task Force until further order of the Court.

Order entered by the Court.