### SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

## COURT CONVENED AT 10:30 A.M., MONDAY, NOVEMBER 20, 2023

### THE COURT MADE THE FOLLOWING ANNOUNCEMENTS:

# MISCELLANEOUS RECORD

M.R.000774

In re: Supreme Court Committee on Jury Instructions in Civil Cases.

Effective January 1, 2024, the following individuals are reappointed members of the Committee on Jury Instructions in Civil Cases for terms expiring December 31, 2026:

Marc J. Ansel Attorney at Law 306 W. Church St. Champaign, IL 61820

Julie L. Cibulskis Attorney at Law 1981 W. Downer Pl., S#401 Aurora, IL 60506

Matthew J. Egan Attorney at Law 200 S. Wacker Dr., S#2600 Chicago, IL 60606

William T. Gibbs Attorney at Law 33 N. Dearborn St., S#2100 Chicago, IL 60602

Hon. Toya T. Harvey Circuit Judge Circuit Court of Cook County 50 W. Washington St., Rm. 2105 Chicago, IL 60602

Allen N. Schwartz Attorney at Law 60 W. Randolph St., 4th Fl. Chicago, IL 60601

Effective January 1, 2024, the following individuals are appointed members of the Committee on Jury Instructions in Civil Cases for terms expiring December 31, 2026, replacing Michael Douglas Block, R. Jeffrey Kerkhover, Jerome E. McDonald, and Bradley N. Pollock:

Joseph P. Giamanco Attorney at Law 107 W. Boughton Rd. Bolingbrook, IL 60440

Carl R. Draper Attorney at Law 1307 S. 7th St. Springfield, IL 62703

Joseph A. Bleyer Attorney at Law P.O. Box 487 601 W. Jackson St. Marion, IL 62959

Lynn D. Dowd Attorney at Law 29 W. Benton Ave. Naperville, IL 60540

Effective January 1, 2024, Matthew J. Egan is reappointed vice-chairperson of the Committee on Jury Instructions in Civil Cases for a term expiring December 31, 2026.

Effective January 1, 2024, the following individual is reappointed Reporter of the Committee on Jury Instructions in Civil Cases for a term expiring December 31, 2024:

Nancy S. Marder Associate Professor of Law Chicago-Kent College of Law 565 W. Adams St. Chicago, IL 60661

Order entered by the Court.

M.R.001933 In re: Supreme Court Rules Committee.

Effective January 1, 2024, the following individuals are reappointed members of the Supreme Court Rules Committee for terms expiring December 31, 2026:

Martin A. Dolan Attorney at Law 10 S. LaSalle St., S#3702 Chicago, IL 60603 Richard R. Harden Attorney at Law P.O. Box 560 30 Main St. Champaign, IL 61824

Sommer R. Luzynczyk Attorney at Law 200 S. Wacker Dr., S#2600 Chicago, IL 60606

John M. Spesia Attorney at Law 1415 Black Rd. Joliet, IL 60435

Effective January 1, 2024, the following individual is appointed a member of the Supreme Court Rules Committee for a term expiring December 31, 2026, replacing Jeffrey A. Green:

Miranda L. Soucie Attorney at Law 1230 W. Court St. Kankakee, IL 60901

Effective January 1, 2024, the following individual is reappointed Reporter of the Supreme Court Rules Committee for a term expiring December 31, 2024:

Professor Keith H. Beyler Southern Illinois University School of Law Carbondale, IL 62901

Order entered by the Court.

M.R.004602

In re: Supreme Court Judicial Performance Evaluation Committee.

That portion of this Court's order of November 17, 2023, reappointing Deane B. Brown as a member of the Supreme Court Judicial Performance Evaluation Committee, for a term expiring December 31, 2026, is vacated. Otherwise, the order of November 17, 2023, remains in full force and effect.

Order entered by the Court.

## CIVIL DOCKET

128767 The State of Illinois, etc., Appellee, v. Elite Staffing, Inc., et al.

(Colony Display LLC, Appellant). Appeal, Appellate Court, First

District.

Unopposed motion by Appellant to dismiss appeal and strike

oral argument. Allowed

Order entered by the Court

Cunningham, J., took no part.

THE FOLLOWING MOTIONS WERE PRESENTED AND ORDERS WERE ENTERED AS INDICATED:

# PEOPLE'S DOCKET

127304 People State of Illinois, Appellee, v. Torolan Williams,

Appellant. Appeal, Appellate Court, First District.

Unopposed motion by Appellant for an extension of time for filing appellant's brief to and including December 31, 2023.

<u>Allowed</u>

Order entered by Justice Neville

#### LEAVE TO APPEAL DOCKET

130202 Thomas Powers, petitioner, v. Greg Donathan et al.,

respondents. Leave to appeal, Appellate Court, Fourth District.

Motion by Petitioner, pro se, for leave to file a Petition for

Leave to Appeal Instanter. Allowed

Order entered by Justice Holder White

Application by Petitioner, pro se, for waiver of court fees.

Allowed

Order entered by Justice Holder White

Le Dominic Russell Williams, petitioner, v. Amy E. Orlando of

Monahan Law Group LLC, respondent. Leave to appeal,

Appellate Court, First District.

Application by Petitioner, pro se, for waiver of court fees.

<u>Allowed</u>

Order entered by Justice Neville

# MISCELLANEOUS RECORD

M.R.031975 In re: Christina Rae Chapin, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change her name on the roll of attorneys from Christina Rae Chapin to Christina Rae Chapin Buser.

Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

M.R.031976 In re: Danielle Alexandra DeFranco, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change her name on the roll of attorneys from Danielle Alexandra DeFranco to Danielle Alexandra

nom Danielle Alexandra Defranco lo Danielle Al

Davis. Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

M.R.031977 In re: Kathryn Susan Batchelar, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change her name on the roll of attorneys

from Kathryn Susan Batchelar to Kathryn Susan Walker.

Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

M.R.031978 In re: Iryna Sukhnatska, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change her name on the roll of attorneys from Iryna Sukhnatska to Iryna Sukhnatska McCoy. Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

M.R.031979 In re: Sarah Williams Edmundson, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change her name on the roll of attorneys from Sarah Williams Edmundson to Sarah Elizabeth Williams. Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

M.R.031980 In re: Alexander Reed Peck, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change his name on the roll of attorneys from Alexander Reed Peck to Alexander Reed Arrington-Peck. Allowed

Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

M.R.031981 In re: Erin Kathleen Murphy, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change her name on the roll of attorneys from Erin Kathleen Murphy to Erin Murphy Konopa. Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

M.R.031982 In re: Kristina Modesto, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change her name on the roll of attorneys from Kristina Modesto to Kristina Lucas. Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

M.R.031983 In re: Heather Michele Heck, an attorney, petitioner.

Petitioner's motion to change her name on the roll of attorneys from Heather Michele Heck to Heather Michele Lobermann. Allowed

M.R.031984 In re: Michael McClain George, an attorney, petitioner.

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis

Petitioner's motion to change his name on the roll of attorneys from Michael McClain George to Michael George Malik. Allowed

Order entered by Chief Justice Theis