
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
   
  

   

 
 
 
 

 

 

  
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

 
   
  
    
  
 

 
 

   

   

  

   

  

 

  

 

  

   

 
 

 
  

 

2020 IL App (4th) 190231 FILED 
April 10, 2020 

NO. 4-19-0231 Carla Bender 
4th District Appellate 

IN THE APPELLATE COURT Court, IL 

OF ILLINOIS 

FOURTH DISTRICT 

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, ) Appeal from the 
Plaintiff-Appellee, ) Circuit Court of 
v. ) Woodford County 

BRANDY M. ROWELL, ) No. 18DT43 
Defendant-Appellant. ) 

) Honorable 
) Charles M. Feeney III, 
) Judge Presiding. 

JUSTICE TURNER delivered the judgment of the court, with opinion. 
Justice Cavanagh concurred in the judgment and opinion. 
Presiding Justice Steigmann dissented, with opinion. 

OPINION 

¶ 1 In January 2019, defendant, Brandy M. Rowell, pleaded guilty to driving under the 

influence (DUI) in this case and endangering the life of a child in a companion case. In February 

2019, the trial court sentenced defendant to 180 days in jail, 24 months of probation, 200 hours of 

public service work, and a $1000 fine pursuant to section 11-501(c)(3) of the Illinois Vehicle Code 

(625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(3) (West 2018)). In March 2019, defendant filed a motion to reconsider 

her sentence. That same month, the trial court conducted a hearing on and denied the motion. The 

court stated section 11-501(c)(3) of the Vehicle Code provides, “if a person transports a child, a 

person under 16, in the vehicle at the time they are driving under the influence, they’re subject to 

six months of imprisonment. They have to serve six months of imprisonment.” However, the court 

added, “I wouldn’t have sentenced the defendant to jail if I didn’t think I had to.” 



 
 

  

    

  

    

   

    

   

  

 

 

  

  

  

 

 

       

 

    

   

¶ 2 Defendant appeals, arguing the trial court incorrectly interpreted section 11-

501(c)(3) of the Vehicle Code to require her to serve 180 days in jail. Defendant contends, 

inter alia, the statute’s reference to a 180-day sentence is permissive, not mandatory. In the 

alternative, defendant argues the statute is ambiguous as to the 180-day sentence in section 11-

501(c)(3). We affirm the finding of guilt but vacate defendant’s sentence and remand this case for 

a new sentencing hearing.  

¶ 3 I. BACKGROUND 

¶ 4 In July 2018, the State charged defendant with driving while having a blood alcohol 

concentration (BAC) in excess of 0.08 (625 ILCS 5/11-501(a)(1) (West 2018)), driving under the 

influence (DUI) (625 ILCS 5/11-501(a)(2)(West 2018)), and endangering the life or health of a 

child (720 ILCS 5/12C-5 (West 2018)) in a companion case. 

¶ 5 In November 2018, defendant appeared in court and waived her right to a jury trial 

on all charges. Prior to accepting her jury waiver, the trial court admonished defendant the DUI 

was a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a maximum fine of $2500. 

¶ 6 In January 2019, defendant entered a plea of guilty to DUI and endangering the life 

of a child in the companion case. Before doing so, the trial court again informed her the DUI charge 

was a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a maximum fine of $2500. 

The court further admonished defendant in accordance with Illinois Supreme Court Rule 402 (eff. 

July 1, 2012) of the various rights she was giving up by pleading guilty. 

¶ 7 The State presented the following factual basis for the charge: (1) defendant was 

behind the wheel of a vehicle on the side of the road, (2) she had a two-year-old child unrestrained 

on her lap, (3) she submitted to and failed standardized field sobriety tests, and (4) she submitted 

to a breathalyzer test, which showed her BAC was 0.205. The trial court did not admonish 
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defendant her plea of guilty to the aforementioned DUI charge included a mandatory sentence of 

at least six months’ imprisonment. The court accepted defendant’s guilty plea and ordered a 

presentence investigation. 

¶ 8 At defendant’s February 2019 sentencing hearing, the trial court considered the 

presentence investigation report. The only evidence presented by the State was a stipulation 

defendant’s BAC at the time of the offense was 0.205. 

¶ 9 Defendant submitted six character letters and also called Amanda Sluga, a 

Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) caseworker, who testified she believed 

defendant would comply with any conditions of court supervision the trial court ordered. 

Defendant testified on her own behalf, but the bystander’s report does not summarize her 

testimony. 

¶ 10 The State argued defendant should be placed on probation. The State made no 

recommendation for jail time. Defendant asked for court supervision. The trial court sentenced 

defendant to 24 months’ probation, 180 days in jail, 200 hours of public service work, and a $1000 

fine. The court explained it believed it was required to impose a sentence of six months’ 

imprisonment because of section 501(c)(3)’s language, “subject to 6 months of imprisonment.” 

The court delayed the sentencing order for 60 days to provide defendant time to file a motion to 

reconsider sentence and to research the issue. 

¶ 11 In March 2019, defendant filed a motion to reconsider sentence. In her motion, 

defendant disputed the trial court’s conclusion section 501(c)(3) required a minimum six-month 

sentence in this case. At a hearing later that month, the court denied defendant’s motion but stated 

it “would not have sentenced her to jail” absent the statutory requirement. The court stayed the 

sentencing order until May 1, 2020, to afford defendant an opportunity to appeal before serving 
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her sentence. 

¶ 12 This appeal followed. 

¶ 13 II. ANALYSIS 

¶ 14 Defendant appeals, arguing the trial court erred by finding section 11-501(c)(3) of 

the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(3) (West 2018)) required her to serve a minimum of 180 

days’ imprisonment. Defendant argues the plain language of the statute is permissive rather than 

mandatory, noting section 11-501(c)(3) lacks words like “mandatory” or “shall” with regard to the 

six months of imprisonment, which are included elsewhere in section 11-501. In the alternative, 

defendant argues the statute is ambiguous and the rule of lenity should govern the outcome. 

Because this case involves a question of statutory interpretation, our review is de novo. People v. 

Witherspoon, 2019 IL 123092, ¶ 20, 129 N.E.3d 1208. 

¶ 15 At issue in this case is section 11-501(c)(3) of the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-

501(c)(3) (West 2018)), which states: “A person who violates subsection (a) is subject to 6 months 

of imprisonment, an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and 25 days of community 

service in a program benefiting children if the person was transporting a person under the age of 

16 at the time of the violation.” The question we must answer is whether the legislature intended 

section 11-501(c)(3) to require a trial court to impose a minimum of six months’ imprisonment as 

part of defendant’s sentence. 

¶ 16 The best way to determine the legislature’s intent is to give the statutory language 

its plain and ordinary meaning. Witherspoon, 2019 IL 123092, ¶ 21. Where statutory language is 

clear and unambiguous, courts should apply the statute as written. People v. Eppinger, 2013 IL 

114121, ¶ 21, 984 N.E.2d 475. When trying to determine legislative intent, a statute should not be 

viewed “in isolation but [rather] as a whole, construing words and phrases in light of other relevant 
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statutory provisions.” (Internal quotation marks omitted.) In re Marriage of Kasprzyk, 2019 IL 

App (4th) 170838, ¶ 27, 128 N.E.3d 1105. Further, statutes should be read as a whole and 

construed so no part of the text is rendered meaningless or superfluous. People v. Lloyd, 2013 IL 

113510, ¶ 25, 987 N.E.2d 386. 

¶ 17 When the language of a statutory provision is susceptible to more than one 

reasonable interpretation the court may look to additional sources to determine legislative intent. 

People ex rel. Department of Professional Regulation v. Manos, 202 Ill. 2d 563, 571, 782 N.E.2d 

237, 242 (2002). “Such sources include the maxim of in pari materia, under which two statutes, 

or two parts of one statute, concerning the same subject must be considered together in order to 

produce a ‘harmonious whole.’ ” People v. Rinehart, 2012 IL 111719, ¶ 26, 962 N.E.2d 444 

(quoting Sulser v. Country Mutual Insurance Co., 147 Ill. 2d 548, 555, 591 N.E.2d 427, 429 

(1992)). Moreover, “[w]ords and phrases should be construed, not in isolation, but in light of other 

relevant provisions.” Rinehart, 2012 IL 111719, ¶ 26 (citing People v. Beachem, 229 Ill. 2d 237, 

243, 800 N.E.2d 515, 519 (2008)). 

¶ 18 In this case, both parties turn to the dictionary as an aid to resolve the meaning of 

the word “subject” as it pertains to the phrase “subject to.” We note this phrase is not defined in 

the statute. “When a statutory term is undefined we assume the legislature intended the word to 

have its ordinary and popularly understood meaning and that we may ascertain this meaning 

through the use of contemporary dictionaries.” Witherspoon, 2019 IL 123092, ¶ 21. In our view, 

the various definitions cited by the parties could support either an interpretation the 6 months of 

imprisonment is mandatory or permissive. For example, Black’s Law Dictionary defines 

“subject,” in relevant part, as follows: 

“2. Exposed, liable, or prone <a climate subject to extreme temperatures>. 3. 
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Dependent on or exposed to (some contingency); esp., being under discretionary 

authority <funding is subject to the board’s approval>.” Black’s Law Dictionary 

(11th ed. 2019). 

The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary defines “subject to” as follows: (1) “affected by or 

possibly affected by (something),” (2) “likely to do, have, or suffer from (something),” and 

(3) “dependent on something else to happen or be true.” Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, 

https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/subject%20to (last visited Apr. 6, 2020) 

[https://perma.cc/WX35-DVL2]. Although not argued by defendant, we note the dictionary 

definitions also support an interpretation the offender is subject to a maximum of six months of 

imprisonment.  

¶ 19 Defendant next argues neither the term “mandatory” nor “shall” is used in 

conjunction with the language “subject to 6 months of imprisonment,” in section 11-501(c)(3) of 

the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(3) (West 2018)), whereas “mandatory” and/or “shall” 

are employed by the legislature in other subsections when a penalty is required. We note the 

legislature even used the word “mandatory” in section 11-501(c)(3) with regard to a minimum fine 

of $1000.  

¶ 20 According to defendant, the inclusion of the terms “mandatory” and “shall” in other 

statutory subsections would be superfluous if they are unnecessary to convey what penalties are 

required. According to our supreme court, “[w]hen the legislature uses certain language in one part 

of a statute and different language in another, we may assume different meanings were intended.” 

People v. Hudson, 228 Ill. 2d 181, 193, 886 N.E.2d 964, 972 (2008). 

¶ 21 The State counters defendant already faced the possibility of being sentenced to 

364 days in jail, for a Class A misdemeanor conviction. Thus, the phrase “is subject to 6 months 
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of imprisonment” would be entirely superfluous unless it is interpreted to require 6 months of 

incarceration. While this argument has appeal, we are reluctant to insert the word “mandatory” 

into the statute where it does not exist. 

¶ 22 As noted earlier, section 11-501(c)(3) does specifically state a $1000 fine is 

mandatory, but it does not specifically state a six-month term of imprisonment is mandatory. 

Moreover, subsections surrounding section 11-501(c)(3) use the term “mandatory” in referring to 

fines, minimum days of imprisonment, and hours of community service that must be imposed. For 

example, section 11-501(c)(2) provides a second-time offender “shall be sentenced to a mandatory 

minimum term of either 5 days of imprisonment or 240 hours of community service.” 625 ILCS 

5/11-501(c)(2) (West 2018). Additionally, section 11-501(c)(4) provides an offender having a 

blood alcohol concentration of 0.16 or more shall be subject to “a mandatory minimum of 100 

hours of community service and a mandatory minimum fine.” 625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(4) (West 

2018). Similarly, section 11-501(c)(5) provides for “a mandatory minimum of 2 days of 

imprisonment and a mandatory minimum fine” for certain second-time offenders. 625 ILCS 5/11-

501(c)(5) (West 2018). Thus, it is readily apparent the legislature has demonstrated its ability to 

express when penalties are mandatory, including mandatory minimum sentences of imprisonment. 

¶ 23 Because section 11-501(c)(3) of the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(3) (West 

2018)) remains ambiguous after considering the ordinarily understood meaning of its language 

and after looking to additional sources, we may also consider a statute’s legislative history and 

debates as important aids to determine legislative intent. See Krohe v. City of Bloomington, 204 

Ill. 2d 392, 398, 789 N.E.2d 1211, 1214 (2003). However, the supreme court has also cautioned 

against the pitfalls of relying upon “a snippet” of legislative debates. People v. Falbe, 189 Ill. 2d 

635, 646, 727 N.E.2d 200, 207 (2000). 
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¶ 24 The State maintains the legislative history of the statute supports its interpretation. 

According to the State, Public Act 94-110 (eff Jan. 1, 2006) was the genesis for legislating into 

law a six-month mandatory minimum sentence for offenders like defendant. The State argues the 

bill’s sponsor, during floor debate in the House of Representatives, clarified the legislation was 

intended to mandate a minimum six-month period of incarceration due to the seriousness of the 

offense. 

¶ 25 Public Act 94-110 amended section 11-501 of the Vehicle Code, as it pertains to 

this appeal, to read as follows: 

“(c-5) Except as provided in subsection (c-5.1), a person 21 years of age or 

older who violates subsection (a), if the person was transporting a person under the 

age of 16 at the time of the violation, is subject to 6 months of imprisonment, an 

additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and 25 days of community service 

in a program benefiting children. The imprisonment or assignment of community 

service under this subsection (c-5) is not subject to suspension, nor is the person 

eligible for a reduced sentence. 

(c-5.1) A person 21 years of age or older who is convicted of violating 

subsection (a) of this Section a first time and who in committing that violation was 

involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in bodily harm to the child under 

the age of 16 being transported by the person, if the violation was the proximate 

cause of the injury, is guilty of a Class 4 felony and is subject to one year of 

imprisonment, a mandatory fine of $2,500, and 25 days of community service in a 

program benefiting children. The imprisonment or assignment to community 

service under this subsection (c-5.1) shall not be subject to suspension, nor shall 
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the person be eligible for probation in order to reduce the sentence or assignment.” 

Pub. Act 94-110 (eff. Jan. 1, 2006) (amending 625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-5), (c-5.1)) 

¶ 26 Section 11-501(c-5) of the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-5) (West 2006)) as 

amended by Public Act 94-110 (eff. Jan. 1, 2006) is now codified in section 11-501(c)(3) of the 

Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(3) (West 2018)). However, section 11-501(c)(3) now applies 

to all offenders, not just those 21 years of age or over. We also note the legislature has made many 

additional amendments to section 501 of the Vehicle Code since the passage of Public Act 94-110 

(eff. Jan. 1, 2006). Thus, we question whether statements made during legislative proceedings 

pertaining to Public Act 94-110 have any meaningful value in interpreting the version of section 

11-501(c)(3) in effect in 2018. Further, we also note individuals currently convicted of more 

serious offenses are not required to serve mandatory periods of imprisonment. Pursuant to section 

11-501(d)(1)(J) and section 11-501(d)(2)(A) of the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(1)(J), 

(d)(2)(A) (West 2018)), an offender who is involved in an accident that results in bodily harm— 

but not great bodily harm—to a child under the age of 16 being transported by the offender 

commits aggravated driving under the influence, a Class 4 felony. However, pursuant to section 

11-501(d)(2)(H) of the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(H) (West 2018)), the offender— 

although subject to a mandatory fine and community service—is not required to serve a period of 

imprisonment.  

¶ 27 Thus, under the State’s interpretation of “subject to” as used in section 11-501(c)(3) 

of the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(3) (West 2018)), an offender who merely transports a 

child under 16 years of age must serve a mandatory period of incarceration. However, an offender 

who transports a minor under 16 years of age and whose conduct proximately causes injury to the 

minor would be guilty of a Class 4 felony but not mandated to serve any period of incarceration. 
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Further, an individual who commits a second violation of section 11-501(a) while transporting a 

person under the age of 16 is guilty of aggravated driving under the influence, which is a Class 2 

felony (625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(1)(K), (d)(2)(I) (West 2018)), is not required to serve a mandatory 

minimum sentence of imprisonment. This remains true even if the child under 16 suffered bodily 

harm—but not great bodily harm—proximately caused by the violation. See 625 ILCS 5/11-

501(d)(2)(I) (West 2018). When section 11-501 of the Vehicle Code is read as a whole, the State’s 

argument section 11-501(c)(3) requires a mandatory minimum six-month sentence is questionable. 

¶ 28 In analyzing section 11-501(c)(3) of the Vehicle Code, we have consulted both 

legal and standard dictionaries and reviewed the various definitions in an effort to determine the 

meaning of the language at issue in this case. We have also considered the normal verbiage 

employed by the legislature when mandating a penalty. Further, this court has sought to avoid an 

interpretation resulting in superfluous language. Finally, we have considered section 11-501 as a 

whole, noting the legislature did not require individuals convicted of more serious offenses 

involving the transportation of minors under the age of 16 to serve a mandatory period of 

imprisonment. Having done so, we seriously question whether the legislature intended to punish 

an individual convicted pursuant to section 11-501(c)(3) with a mandatory period of imprisonment. 

¶ 29 Because the phrase “subject to 6 months of imprisonment” in section 11-501(c)(3) 

of the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(3) (West 2018)) is ambiguous, we agree with 

defendant that the rule of lenity applies in this case. The rule of lenity is defined as follows: “The 

judicial doctrine holding that a court, in construing an ambiguous criminal statute that sets out 

multiple or inconsistent punishments, should resolve the ambiguity in favor of the more lenient 

punishment.” Black’s Law Dictionary (11th ed. 2019). Our supreme court has stated, “[u]nder the 

rule of lenity, we adopt the more lenient interpretation of a criminal statute when, after consulting 
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traditional canons of statutory construction, we are left with an ambiguous statute.” (Internal 

quotation marks omitted.) People v. Gaytan, 2015 IL 116223, ¶ 39, 32 N.E.3d 641. As a result, 

section 11-501(c)(3) should not be construed to impose a mandatory minimum period of 6 months’ 

imprisonment. Because the trial court believed it was statutorily required to sentence defendant to 

6 months of incarceration, it erred by failing to exercise its discretion in sentencing defendant. See 

People v. Pinkston, 2013 IL App (4th) 111147, ¶ 14, 989 N.E.2d 298 (noting a trial court errs when 

it fails to exercise discretion based on an incorrect belief it does not have discretion). Thus, we 

vacate defendant’s sentence and remand this case for a new sentencing hearing.  

¶ 30 III. CONCLUSION 

¶ 31 For the reasons stated, we affirm the finding of guilt but vacate defendant’s 

sentence and remand this case for a new sentencing hearing consistent with this opinion. 

¶ 32 Affirmed in part, vacated in part, and remanded with directions.  

¶ 33 JUSTICE STEIGMANN, dissenting: 

¶ 34 Like my distinguished colleagues in the majority, I am troubled not only by the 

imprecise language the legislature used in section 11-501(c)(3) of the Code but also by the wisdom 

of the policy that section reflects—namely, that section 11-501(c)(3) imposes a mandatory 180 

days in jail based upon a defendant’s DUI conviction if she was transporting a person under the 

age of 16 at the time of her violation. However, the wisdom (or lack thereof) of statutes is not a 

subject with which this court may be legitimately concerned. And our disagreement with a statute 

is certainly no basis to decline to enforce it. 

¶ 35 So, the real question before us is to determine as best we can whether the legislature 

really meant to impose such a penalty. After carefully considering this statute, I conclude that it 

did; accordingly, I respectfully dissent. 
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¶ 36 Because the majority does a good job discussing the law applicable to statutory 

interpretation, I need not repeat that discussion. Instead, I will discuss the reasons for my 

disagreement with the majority. 

¶ 37 In this case, we are tasked with giving effect to the legislature’s intent. In doing so, 

this court must weigh several considerations, including (1) the plain language of the statute, (2) the 

lack of the normal terminology that the legislature uses to denote required minimum imprisonment, 

(3) various interpretations that might render particular portions of the statute superfluous, and 

(4) the existence of other statutes that increase the minimum penalty of incarceration but still allow 

for probation. 

¶ 38 A. Plain Language 

¶ 39 Some cases can be resolved simply by looking at the plain language. Unfortunately, 

this is not one of them because “subject to” is not explicitly defined in the statute. 625 ILCS 5/11-

500 (West 2018). 

¶ 40 I agree with the majority that, contextually, “subject” can have different meanings 

and different dictionary definitions might lead to different results. A political speech that is subject 

to misinterpretation is not one that is always misinterpreted. Meanwhile, a corporation that is 

subject to the laws of Delaware is always under the jurisdiction of those laws. In the context of the 

statute at issue, “is subject to” is not sufficiently clarified by its context to make its meaning clear. 

So, other methods of statutory interpretation must be used. 

¶ 41 B. The Terminology 

¶ 42 When analyzing legislative intent based upon the terminology used by the 

legislature in this statute, we face two competing considerations. First, the legislature did not use 

language like “must” or “mandatory” or “shall” as it often does when describing mandatory 
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imprisonment. See, e.g., 630 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(5) (West 2018) (is “subject to *** a mandatory 

minimum”). Second, it seems nonsensical that the legislature would include language about six 

months of imprisonment at all if it simply meant to repeat a possible penalty that already may be 

imposed upon all Class A misdemeanants. Accordingly, I conclude that the legislature simply used 

a different word than one it would normally use in order to require a mandatory sentence of 180 

days, and I disagree with the idea that the legislature intended to merely reiterate the possible 

penalty of 6 months in jail for no apparent reason other than to remind courts of a possible penalty. 

¶ 43 C. Avoiding Superfluous Interpretations 

¶ 44 No matter how one interprets the statute, portions of it are inevitably rendered 

superfluous. As defendant notes, if “subject to” means that the imprisonment is mandatory, then 

using the term “mandatory” elsewhere in the statute would be superfluous. See id. However, if 

“subject to” does not mean that the imprisonment is mandatory, then mentioning the possibility of 

a six-month sentence would be entirely superfluous because, as noted earlier, all Class A 

misdemeanors carry that possible penalty—and more. Applying the rule to avoid interpretations 

that render the legislature’s language superfluous favors the interpretation that “subject to” is 

mandatory. 

¶ 45 D. Special Sentencing Ranges That Permit Probation 

¶ 46 There are many crimes for which the legislature has seen fit to assign a special 

sentencing range. These crimes often carry a harsher penalty than would otherwise apply. Most of 

the crimes with harsher penalties do not permit probation as an alternative to imprisonment, but 

some do. 

¶ 47 For example, aggravated DUI causing great bodily harm is a Class 4 felony, but 

unlike other felonies of that Class, it carries a possible penalty of 1 to 12 years in prison, instead 
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of 1 to 3 years. 625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(F) (West 2016). However, probation remains as an 

alternative to imprisonment, despite the increased penalty. Id. The statute says “if sentenced to a 

term of imprisonment” before describing the sentencing range, indicating that options other than 

prison remain. Id. 

¶ 48 Another crime with a special sentencing range is reckless homicide in a 

construction zone causing the deaths of two or more people. 720 ILCS 5/9-3(e-8) (West 2018). It 

is a Class 2 felony, but unlike other felonies of that Class, it carries a possible penalty of between 

6 and 28 years, instead of 3 to 7 years, again, “if sentenced to a term of imprisonment.” Id. 

¶ 49 These statutes demonstrate that, when the legislature creates a special sentencing 

range in which probation is an option, the legislature commonly uses the phrase “if sentenced to a 

term of imprisonment” in order to leave the option of a nonprison sentence available. 

¶ 50 Unlike the above crimes, which expressly say “if sentenced to a term of 

imprisonment” before stating the special sentencing range, the statute at issue in this case provides 

no such qualification. It makes no mention of the possibility of a sentence involving no 

imprisonment. This omission indicates that section 11-501(c)(3) does not contemplate probation 

or other community-based sentences. 

¶ 51 E. Conclusion 

¶ 52 The legislature’s use of language that is uncommon or imperfect does not authorize 

this court to substitute its judgment for that of the legislature notwithstanding any concerns we 

may have regarding the policy underlying the statute in question. I conclude that (1) the legislature 

intended to create a greater-than-normal penalty for DUI with a young person in the vehicle and 

(2) the interpretation that “is subject to” creates a mandatory imprisonment for 180 days for the 

offense is consistent with the legislature’s intent. Accordingly, because I conclude that section 11-

- 14 -



 
 

 501(c)(3) requires a sentence of six months’ imprisonment, I respectfully dissent. 
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