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What is a Certificate of Good Conduct? 
A Certificate of Good Conduct is a court order stating that 
an individual has been rehabilitated from past criminal 
conduct. 

Why would someone seek a Certificate of Good 
Conduct? 
A Certificate of Good Conduct may help you overcome 
barriers that your criminal record is causing (such as 
difficulties with getting a job or finding housing). It may 
also remove barriers to employment under Illinois laws. 
Go to this website for a list of barriers to employment in 
Illinois: https://niccc.csgjusticecenter.org/. 

Who can ask the court for a Certificate of Good 
Conduct? 
You can ask for a Certificate so long as you have not 
been convicted of any of the following: 
o	 Aggravated driving under the influence 
o	 Aggravated domestic battery 
o	 Arson, aggravated arson 
o	 Kidnapping, aggravated kidnapping 
o	 Convictions resulting in registration under (1) Sex 

Offender Registration Act, (2) Arsonist Registration 
Act, or (3) Murder and Violent Offender Against 
Youth Registration Act 

o	 Federal or out of state convictions unless you are 
removing a specific legal restriction, for example, the 
Illinois School Code bars you from working with that 
conviction in schools 

o	 Certificate of Good Conduct cannot be issued for the 
following types of cases: 
•	 Juvenile cases 
•	 Civil cases 
•	 Minor traffic offenses 

When Can I Apply? 
If you were convicted of a misdemeanor, you must wait at 
least 1 year after your sentence ended. If you were 
convicted of a felony, you must wait at least 2 years after 
your sentence ended. Your sentence ends on the date of 
the payment of any fine imposed or on the date of 
release from custody by parole, mandatory supervised 
release, or commutation or termination of sentence. 730 
ILCS 5/5-5.5-30(c) 

NOTE: If you have a pending case, that case may 
impact a judge's decision on your Request. 

What forms do I need to fill out to seek a Certificate 
of Good Conduct? 
o	 Request for Certificate of Good Conduct 
o	 Notice of Court Date for Request for Certificate of 

Good Conduct 
o	 Order for Request for Certificate of Good Conduct 

Where can I find the forms I need? 
You can find forms at: 
http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/ 

What costs will I need to pay to file my forms? 
There is a fee to file your Request for Certificate of Good 
Conduct. The Circuit Clerk will let you know the amount 
of the fee. 

STEP 1: GET COPIES OF YOUR 
CRIMINAL RECORDS 

Why do I need copies of my criminal records? 
Criminal records list the offenses you were arrested for, 
the offenses you were charged with, and the outcome of 
the cases, including any sentences you received. Your 
criminal records will be considered by the court in 
evaluating your Request for Certificate of Good Conduct. 

What are the different types of criminal records? 
o	 Court Disposition: the final judgment or outcome in a 

court case. There are no court dispositions for arrests 
or charges that did not lead to a court case. 

o	 Chicago RAP Sheet (Record of Arrests and 
Prosecutions): list of all arrests, charges, and court 
case outcomes that happened in Chicago. 

o	 Illinois State Police Statewide Criminal History 
Transcript: list of all arrests and convictions that 
happened in Illinois. 

How do I get copies of my criminal records? 
o Get information from the Illinois State Police. You 

are allowed to access your entire criminal history 
information from the Illinois State Police. Although not 
required, it guarantees you have your entire criminal 
record. You can get this Statewide Criminal History 
Transcript to make sure that you have your entire 
criminal record in 3 ways: 
•	 Directly from the Illinois State Police: 

Illinois State Police, Bureau of Identification 
260 North Chicago Street, Joliet, Illinois 60432 
(815) 740-5160 
www.isp.state.il.us/crimhistory/chri.cfm 

•	 Every law enforcement agency is allowed to 
provide you this information. Check with your 
local law enforcement agency to find out costs 
and times for fingerprinting. 

•	 You can also go to any licensed LiveScan 
vendor to get your Transcript. Find a LiveScan 
vendor at: 
https://www.idfpr.com/LicenseLookUp/fingerprintl 
ist.asp. 

o Get information from the Circuit Clerk. Many court 
records are available online. Other counties, like 
Cook County, do not provide online access to criminal 
records. In this case, go to the Circuit Clerk’s Office in 
the county where your case was filed. Ask the Circuit 
Clerk for copies of your court dispositions or 

Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
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use the public computer at the courthouse to look 
them up and print them out. There may be a fee to 
print out your court dispositions, but you can look at 
them on the computer and write down the information 
for free. Find your Circuit Clerk's website at: 
www.ilcourtclerks.org/illinois-court-clerks/ 

o	 Get information from the Chicago Police 
Department. Order a RAP sheet from the Chicago 
Police Department if you were arrested in Chicago. 
There may be a waiting period before you get your 
RAP sheet. There will be a fee. 
o You must go to the Chicago Police Department 

to get your Chicago RAP sheet: 
Chicago Police Headquarters 
3510 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 
(312) 745-5508 

o	 You should also request a copy of your Illinois 
State Police Statewide Criminal History 
Transcript.  The Chicago Police will provide your 
state record for no additional cost. 

o	 If you are requesting a Certificate for an out of 
state or federal conviction because you need to 
remove a specific legal restriction (for example, you 
have a conviction in Iowa that legally bars you from 
working as a teacher in Illinois), you must get your 
certified court disposition or a similar document from 
the state where you were convicted. If you were 
convicted of a federal crime after November 1, 2004, 
you can get your case information from 
www.Pacer.gov. Otherwise you will need to get the 
information from the federal court house where you 
were convicted. You will be charged a fee to access 
your case information. 

STEP 2: FILL OUT THE REQUEST 
FOR CERTIFICATE OF GOOD 
CONDUCT 

Certificate Form Line-By-Line Instructions: 

SECTION 2: This statement must be true. You cannot 
get a Certificate if you have been convicted of arson, 
aggravated arson, kidnapping, aggravated kidnapping, 
aggravated driving under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs, or aggravated domestic battery. 

Also, you cannot get a Certificate if you have to register 
under the Sex Offender Registration Act, the Arsonist 
Registration Act, or the Murder and Violent Offender 
Against Youth Registration Act. You can find more 
information on these acts here: 
www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2009; 
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2621& 
ChapterID=55; and 
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2802. 

SECTION 3: Enter the date when your last sentence 
ended. Your sentence ends on the date of the payment 
of any fine imposed, or on the date of release from 
custody by parole, mandatory supervised release, or 
commutation or termination of sentence. 730 ILCS 5/5­
5.5-30(c) 

SECTION 4: To find out if a conviction is a felony or 
misdemeanor, look at your RAP sheet or court 
dispositions for the “Class.” There will be either an “F” for 
felony or “M” for misdemeanor listed. In most counties 
outside of Cook, felony offenses have a “CF” in the case 
number and misdemeanors have a “CM” in the number. 

Sample RAP Sheet with class of criminal charge: 
Court Charges/Disposition 
Count Statute Citation Literal Description Class 
1 720 ILCS 

600/3.5 
Poss. Of Drug 
Paraphernalia 

CM 

Dispositio 
n: 

COURT SUPERVISION Disposition Date: 
12/17/2010 

Case Number: 09CM117 

SECTION 5: Typically, people request Certificates for 
convictions that are not eligible for expungement or 
sealing or are causing an employment barrier. 

 Line 5a: In 5a, check the box if you are seeking a 
Certificate for the first time and enter the case numbers of 
the convictions you are seeking a Certificate for. Include 
federal and out of state convictions if there is a specific 
legal barrier preventing you from getting a job. 

 Line 5b: In 5b, check the box only if you were 
previously granted a Certificate of Good Conduct and 
need to remove an additional employment barrier or 
cover additional convictions (including any federal and 
out of state convictions). Enter the date of your previous 
Certificate and list the convictions. Attach your 
previously granted Order for Request for Certificate of 
Good Conduct to this Request. 

SECTION 6: 
 Line 6a: In 6a, check the box if you have 3 or fewer 
arrests on your criminal record. State that you should 
receive a Certificate of Good Conduct because you do 
not have many offenses on your criminal record. Attach 
a local police RAP Sheet, certified court dispositions or 
an Illinois State Police Statewide Criminal History 
Transcript, if possible. 

 Line 6b: In 6b, check the box if you have 4 or more 
arrests on your background. This is your opportunity to 
explain to the court that despite your criminal history, 
you are a different person than you were when the 
offenses were committed. Attach a local police RAP 
Sheet, certified court dispositions or an Illinois State 
Police Statewide Criminal History Transcript, if possible. 

Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
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 Line 6c: In 6c, check the box if you have earned any 
educational/vocational degrees or certifications, or if you 
have made progress towards a degree or certification. 
State the degrees/certifications you have earned, and 
when you earned them. If you are currently in school or 
wish to continue with your schooling, state what 
school/program you are enrolled in or plan to continue, 
how long you have been enrolled in the school/program, 
and how close you are to getting your degree or 
certification. Attach a copy of any school degrees, 
certifications or school transcripts, if possible. 

 Line 6d: In 6d, check the box if you are currently 
employed or have been regularly employed in the recent 
past. State your recent work history and if you have been 
denied employment due to your convictions. Attach a 
copy of a current resume. You can also attach letters 
from current or previous employers regarding your work 
history. The longer the employment history you list, the 
better. Attach any letters from employers or potential 
employers stating that you cannot be employed due to 
your conviction. 

 Line 6e: In 6e, check the box if you have recovered or 
are currently recovering from substance abuse. State 
how you got sober and how long you have been sober. 
Examples of treatment include medication, therapy, or 
group/sponsor meetings. If you quit ‘cold turkey,’ without 
any treatment, state how you are able to stay sober.  
Attach a copy of a letter from a treatment facility, 
Alcoholics’ Anonymous/Narcotics Anonymous sponsor, 
house of worship or a doctor that shows the treatment 
you received, if possible. 

 Line 6f: In 6f, check the box if you have received 
treatment for a mental health issue that contributed to 
your criminal history. State how you are being treated, 
and how long you have been receiving treatment. 
Examples of treatment include medication, therapy, or 
group meetings. Attach a letter from a treatment facility or 
doctor confirming mental health treatment, if possible. Do 
not attach copies of actual medical records. 

WARNING: This Request will become a public record 
and other people may read what you write on or attach to 
this Request. Do not attach any actual medical records. 
If you attach a letter about your diagnosis and/or 
treatment, you may be waiving your right to keep your 
mental health records confidential. 

 Line 6g: In 6g, check this box if your family depends 
on you for support: financial, emotional or otherwise. 
State who you support (partner, spouse, children, mother, 
father, siblings, cousins, etc.). Attach letters from family 
members to show that they depend on you for support. 

 Line 6h: In 6h, check this box if you work to improve 
your neighborhood or community. State the kind of 

volunteering you do, and how long you have been 
volunteering.  Examples include volunteering for a 
neighborhood organization, school, charity or religious 
organization. Attach letters from neighbors, religious 
community, volunteer organizations, etc. that show your 
community involvement. 

 Line 6i: In 6i, check this box if there are any other 
reasons that show your rehabilitation that you have not 
already stated. Attach any documents that support 
these reasons. 

SECTION 7: 
 Line 7a: In 7a, check this box and write in the blank 
space the number of years since the end of your last 
sentence.  Start counting from the day you completed 
your last sentence. Your sentence ends on the date of 
the payment of any fine imposed, or on the date of 
release from custody by parole, mandatory supervised 
release or commutation or termination of sentence. 730 
ILCS 5/5-5.5-30(c). This includes sentences for federal 
crimes or crimes in other states. 

 Line 7b: In 7b, check this box if you or your family 
receive any government benefits.  Examples include 
WIC, SNAP, TANF, Medicaid, public housing, Section 8 
Voucher housing. Explain how granting your Request 
for Certificate of Good Conduct could allow you to get 
better employment and reduce or eliminate you or your 
family’s dependence on these programs. 

 Line 7c: In 7c, explain, in your own words, what 
happened for each offense.  This explanation can 
include where you were when you were arrested, who 
you were with, why the offense happened/motivating 
factors (for example, addiction, financial need, 
opportunity, youth, mental illness, bad friends, or family 
influence, etc.) and lessons learned. When possible, 
accept responsibility for the conviction and explain why it 
will not happen again. If any violations of the sentence 
occurred, explain why. If you have numerous 
convictions or it is difficult to remember the facts about 
your conviction, explain that to the court. Explain to the 
court what you learned from your convictions as well. 

 Line 7d: In 7d, explain why you will continue to be 
law-abiding despite your criminal background. Using the 
reasons you listed in Section 6, explain how you have 
changed since receiving your convictions. 

SECTION 8: This Section allows you to explain why you 
are applying for a Certificate of Good Conduct. 
 Line 8a: In 8a, check this box if there are jobs or 
licenses you cannot get because of your criminal record 
and list the jobs you have been denied. 

Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
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o	 For example: “I am applying for a Certificate of 
Good Conduct because I want to work at a 
warehouse.” 

 Line 8b: In 8b, check this box if there are legal 
employment barriers preventing you from working. You 
should list the name of the act and the statutory cite of 
the legal employment barrier. 
o	 For example: "I am applying for a Certificate of Good 

Conduct because I want to work in the public schools 
and cannot because of a barrier in the Illinois School 
Code 105 ILCS 5/1-1." 

o	 Go to this website for a list of barriers to employment 
in Illinois: https://niccc.csgjusticecenter.org/ 

What type of documents should I include to support 
my Request for Certificate of Good Conduct? 
When you file your Request, the only thing the judge 
knows about you is your criminal history. It is important to 
include documents with other information about yourself, 
which you can attach to your Request.  Examples 
include: 
o	 Your criminal history (exhibit could be RAP sheet or 

case dispositions, etc.) 
o	 Your educational progress (exhibits could be 

transcript, degrees, letters from teachers/professors, 
etc.) 

o	 Your work history (exhibits could be resume, letter 
from current, former or potential employer, etc.) 

o	 If drug dependency was an issue, your treatment 
progress (exhibit could be 12 steps program, 
treatment completion, letter from sponsor, counselor, 
etc.) 

o	 If mental health was an issue, your treatment 
progress (exhibit could be letter from therapist, 
background on seeking treatment, etc.) 

o	 Your family situation (exhibits could be letter from 
family, who you are supporting, who you are helping 
in their family, etc.) 

o	 Your community involvement (exhibits could be 
letters from volunteer groups, certificates of 
appreciation, etc.) 

o	 Anything else that is relevant to support your claim of 
rehabilitation. 

What type of letters should I include? 
It is important for the judge to be able to consider the 
opinions of people who know you. Asking people to write 
letters on your behalf is one way for the judge to do this. 
There are several different types of letters you can attach 
to your Request. 
General Character Letter 
o	 A general character letter should include: 1) how the 

writer knows you; 2) how long they have known you; 
3) if they are aware of your criminal record; 4) what 

they have to say about your good character (for 
example, honest, peaceful, kind, trustworthy, 
hardworking, etc.); and 5) examples that show your 
good character. If the writer is a family member you 
are supporting, make sure they include that fact in 
the letter. 

Potential Employer Letter: 
o	 Include letters from employers if they say you will not 

be offered a job because of your criminal record. 
Addiction or Mental Health Treatment Letter: 
o	 Letters to demonstrate treatment by a doctor, 

therapist, counselor or treatment center could 
include: 1) an official diagnosis of your condition; 2) 
dates of current or past treatment; 3) whether you 
received inpatient or outpatient treatment; 4) if you 
take medication as part of your treatment; and 5) 
any other information that may be relevant to your 
treatment. 
NOTE: this letter will be available to the public and 
filing it with the court may waive your right to 
confidentiality of your mental health records. 

o	 If you go to Alcoholics or Narcotics Anonymous or 
similar group meetings, try to get a letter from a 
sponsor or group leader. Ask them to include in the 
letter: 1) how long you have been going to meetings; 
2) how often you attend meetings; and 3) the 
progress that you have made in your recovery. 

Current or Former Employer Letter: 
o	 Letters verifying your employment should include: 1) 

how long you worked there; 2) your job title and any 
promotions earned; 3) why you are a good 
employee; and if true, 4) whether a Certificate of 
Good Conduct can help you earn a promotion, more 
hours or full-time employment. 

NOTE: If possible, all letters should be typed on a 
computer, printed, and signed by the writer. 

STEP 3: NEXT STEPS 


What do I do after I fill out my forms? 

Step 1- File your Request for Certificate of Good 
Conduct with the Circuit Clerk in the county where 
you were convicted. 
o	 You must electronically file (e-file) court documents 

unless you qualify for an exemption from e-filing. 
•	 You will qualify for an exemption if: (1) you do 

not have internet or computer access at home 
and it would be difficult for you to travel to a 
place where you could use a computer, (2) you 
have a disability that keeps you from e-filing, or 
(3) you have trouble reading or speaking in 
English. 

•	 Fill out a Certification for Exemption from E-
Filing found here: 
www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/default.a 
sp. 

Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
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•	 File the original and 1 copy of your form, and the 
Certification, with the Circuit Clerk’s office in 
person or by mail. 

o	 To e-file, create an account with an e-filing service 
provider. 
•	 Visit http://efile.illinoiscourts.gov/service­

providers.htm to select a service provider. Some 
service providers are free while others charge a 
processing fee. 

•	 For instructions on how to e-file for free with 
Odyssey eFileIL, see the self-help user guides 
here: 
http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/CivilJustice/Resourc 
es/Self-Represented_Litigants/self­
represented.asp 

o If you do not have access to a computer, or if you 
need help e-filing, take your form to the Circuit Clerk’s 
office where you can use a public computer terminal 
to e-file your form. 
•	 You can bring your form on paper or saved on a 

flash drive. 
•	 The terminal will have a scanner and computer 

that you can use to e-file your form. 

Step 2: Ask for a court date. 
o	 Ask the Circuit Clerk if you have to schedule a court 

date or if one will be scheduled automatically. 
o	 If you need to schedule the court date, ask the Circuit 

Clerk how to do so. The Circuit Clerk may schedule 
the court date or you may have to speak with other 
court staff. 

Step 3: Send a copy of your Request for Certificate of 
Good Conduct to the State's Attorney. 
o	 After filing and after you receive a court date, you 

must complete and send a copy of your Notice of 
Court Date for Request for Certificate of Good 
Conduct along with the forms you filed with the 
Circuit Clerk to the State's Attorney. There are 
instructions on the Notice explaining how to complete 
the form. 

o	 You may send forms to the other parties by personal 
hand delivery, by mail, third-party commercial carrier 
(for example, FedEx or UPS), or through the court's 
electronic filing manager or an approved e-filing 
service provider. You may e-mail your form to a party 
if they have listed their e-mail address on a court 
document. Complete the Proof of Delivery with 
information to show how you sent the forms to each 
party. The form has room for 3 parties. If you are 
sending forms to more than 3 parties, fill out and file 
one or more Additional Proof of Delivery forms with 
your form. 

Step 4: Mail a copy of your Request for Certificate of 
Good Conduct to the judge. 
o	 Ask the Circuit Clerk which judge is going to hear 

your case and mail them a copy of your Request. 
Address your envelope to the judge at the court 
house address. 

o	 Giving the judge a copy will give them an opportunity 
to review your Request ahead of your court date and 
resume, degrees or certificates, letters from teachers 
or past employers). 

Step 5: Get ready for your court date. 
o	 Review your Request filed with the court. Remember 

that you have sworn that everything in this document 
is true. Be familiar with your criminal record and any 
documents you attached to your Request so you can 
talk about your background and how you have been 
rehabilitated. If there are documents that you did not 
attach to your Request that you want the judge to 
look at, bring copies with you. 

o	 A character witness can testify to your rehabilitation. 
This can be a family member, friend, co-worker, or 
community member. 

o	 Prepare questions for witnesses, if any. Questions 
can include the following: 
•	 Who is the person? 
•	 How they know you and for how long? 
•	 How they have seen changes in you since your 

conviction? 
•	 How the judge can be convinced you are 

rehabilitated? 

Step 6: Go to your court date. 
o	 You should have received a court date and time from 

the Circuit Clerk when you filed your court forms OR 
on a written notice from the Circuit Clerk. If you 
cannot find your court date and time, call the Circuit 
Clerk. 

o	 Bring these items with you to court: 
•	 A photo I.D.; 
•	 Copies of all the documents you filed with the 

Circuit Clerk; 
•	 Any documents you did not include in your 

Request that you want the judge to look at; AND 
•	 A copy of the Order. 

o	 Get to the courthouse at least 30 minutes early. 
o Go to the courtroom number listed on your court 

form. If your forms do not have a courtroom number 
look for a list of cases at the courthouse or ask the 
Circuit Clerk. 

o Check in with the courtroom staff and wait for your 
name and case number to be called. 

o When your case is called, walk to the judge and 
introduce yourself. 

Step 7: How do I present my case to the judge? 
o	 Tell the judge your side of the case and answer 

questions. 
o	 Focus on the 3 or 4 strongest arguments in your 

favor.  The judge will have read your Request so 
you do not need to repeat everything in it. 

o	 Even though the judge may ask you about your 
convictions, the judge is not deciding whether you 
should have been convicted. 

o	 Tell the judge about your struggles and about your 
Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
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accomplishments. Have information ready about your 
education and employment history (including resume, 
degrees or certificates, letter from teachers or past 
employers). 

o	 Tell the judge what you do in your community 
(volunteer, part of your family, include letters from 
family, church or other organizations). 

o	 If you want the Certificate because of a specific 
employment barrier, explain how you are qualified for 
the job but cannot get it because of your convictions 
(for example, you have training or have worked in 
that field). If you have already been denied a job 
because of your record, tell the judge. 

o	 Give copies of any documents you brought to court 
that are not attached to your Request to the judge 
and the State’s Attorney. Be prepared to explain why 
a document is important. 

o	 If you have any character witnesses, bring them to 
court. 
•	 Tell the judge the name of your character 

witnesses. 
•	 The judge may allow the character witness to 

give a presentation or may require you to ask the 
witness questions. Ask the questions you 
prepared in advance. 

•	 The judge and the State's Attorney may also ask 
questions of your witnesses. 

o	 When you are finished, the State’s Attorney will be 
given an opportunity to speak. Listen politely and do 
not interrupt. 

o	 The judge will decide whether the documents, 
witness testimony, and other evidence can be 
considered in making a decision about your case. 

Step 8: The judge makes a decision after both sides 
present their case. 
o	 The judge will then issue a ruling on your Request. 

The Request will either be “granted” or “denied.” 
o	 If the Request is “granted,” that means the court will 

issue the Certificate of Good Conduct.  If the 
Request is “denied,” that means the court will not 
issue a Certificate of Good Conduct. 

Step 9: What do I do if my Certificate is granted? 
o	 The Court will enter a written order.  This order is 

your Certificate of Good Conduct. No separate 
certificate will be issued. NOTE: Be sure to ask for a 
copy of the Certificate and do not leave the 
courthouse without it. 

o	 Get a certified copy of your Certificate. 
•	 The court clerk should provide you with a copy of 

your Certificate shortly after the judge’s decision. 
Go to the Circuit Clerk’s office and have them 
certify, either by stamp or raised seal, the 
Certificate (a small fee may apply). 

o	 Make sure that the Illinois State Police receive a copy 
of your Certificate. 

•	 The Circuit Clerk’s office will send a copy of your 
Certificate to the Illinois State Police for 
verification purposes.  Thirty days after the 
judge signed your Certificate, you can call the 
Illinois State Police at (815) 740-5160 to confirm 
they received the Certificate. 

o	 Keep a copy of your Certificate. 
•	 If an employment background check asks if you 

have earned a Certificate of Good Conduct, you 
can answer “yes.” Your employer may be 
legally required to retain a copy of your 
Certificate, so be prepared to present the 
Certificate when asked to do so. 

•	 If you apply for a job and a background check 
discloses a conviction for which you have 
received a Certificate of Good Conduct, give the 
employer a copy of your Certificate. 

Step 10: What do I do if my Certificate is denied? 
o	 Ask the judge to reconsider. 
•	 You can file a Motion to Reconsider the denial. 

You have 30 days from the day the order 
denying your Request is signed to file the 
Motion. If you file a Motion to Reconsider, you 
must explain how the denial was wrong because 
the judge made a mistake in applying the law to 
your evidence or used the wrong law to decide 
your case. 

o	 Preserve your right to request a Certificate in the 
future. 
•	 If the judge denies your Request, ask the judge 

to do so “without prejudice.” If the judge does 
this, you can make a request for a Certificate in 
the future. For example, if the judge denies your 
request because it has not been long enough 
since the end of your sentence or the judge was 
not convinced you have been rehabilitated, you 
could file again when enough time has passed 
since your last sentence or when you have more 
evidence of rehabilitation. 

o	 Appeal 
•	 You have the right to appeal the denial of your 

Request. Because judges have a lot of 
discretion to grant or deny a Certificate of Good 
Conduct, it is unlikely that an appeal would be 
successful.  

Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
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Appendix: Case Worksheet 
Use this worksheet to get the information from your 
entire criminal record in one place. 
o You can find all the information you need to fill in the 

worksheet on your court dispositions, RAP sheets, and 
information from the Illinois State Police Access and 
Review process. Below are some samples to help you 
locate the information you need. 

o There are three tables on page 10 of this instruction 
booklet to help you determine if a sentence or 
disposition qualifies as a conviction for the purposes of 
a Certificate of Good Conduct. 

How do I complete the Case Worksheet? 
Using the information on your court dispositions and any 
RAP sheets you have, fill in your Case Worksheet with 
this information for each case: 
o Arrest or Case Number: Enter the arrest or case 

number listed on your court disposition or RAP sheet. 

o Arresting Agency: Enter the name of the police 
department that arrested you. 

o Charge: Enter all offenses you were charged with for 
each case number, for example “drug possession” and 
“possession of paraphernalia.” 

o Date of Arrest: Enter the date you were arrested that is 
listed on your court disposition or RAP sheet. 

o Outcome: enter the sentence you received for the 
offense. 

o Completion of Sentence: Enter the date your sentence 
ended successfully. 

What if I see an arrest on my criminal record but there 
is no charge, disposition or sentence listed? 
Not all arrests lead to charges, so there would not be a 
charge, disposition, or sentence listed on your record. All 
arrests without charges can be expunged if all the 
offenses on your entire record qualify. If not, then the 
arrests can be sealed. In the chart below, you only need to 
enter the Arresting Agency and Date of Arrest for arrests 
that did not result in charges. 

Arrest or 
Case 

Number 
Arresting Agency Charge Date of 

Arrest Outcome 
Completion of 

Sentence 
(Date) 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

Do not file this worksheet with the court. It is only for helping you fill out the actual forms. 
Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
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Sample Cook County Court Disposition: Sample Chicago Police RAP Sheet: 

CHICAGO POLICE DEPARTMENT
 
3510 S. Michigan Avenue/Chicago, IL 60653
 

Identification Section
 

Criminal History Report
 

DOE, JOHN 
IR # 978380 MALE 
SID # WHITE 
FBI # 5’10” 
IDOC # EYES: BRO 
Current Arrest Information: HAIR: BLK 

Date of Birth: 2-OCT-1974 
Age: 39 years 
Place of Birth: CHICAGO, IL 
SSN: 
Driver’s License #: Q4838171920282782 
Driver’s Lic. State: ILLINOIS 
Scars, Marks & Tattoos: 

Criminal Justice Summary: Total arrests: 1 (1 Misdemeanor) 

ARREST 

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS 

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS 

VS NUMBER 05121978901 

JOHN DOE 

CERTIFIED STATEMENT OF CONVICTION / DISPOSITION 

I, DOROTHY BROWN, Clerk of the Circuit Court of Cook County, 
Illinois, and keeper of the records and seal thereof do hereby certify 
that the electronic records of the Circuit Court of Cook County show: 

The State’s Attorney of Cook County/Local Prosecutor has filed a 
complaint with the Clerk of the Circuit Court. 

Charging the above named defendant with: 

750-5/12-3-A-1 M A BATTERY 

The following disposition(s) was/were rendered before the Honorable 
Judge(s): 

11/05/2005 BOND SET BY RULE OF COURT 11/17/2005 3154 
Smith, Gerald T. Arrest Name: DOE, JOHN Date: 11/4/2005 Holding Facility: NORRIDGE 

11/17/2005 BOND FORFEITURE B001 Date of Birth: 2-OCT-1974 Arrest Address: 145 W. State St., Chicago, IL 
Smith, Gerald T. DCN or CB: 05456347 Residence: 230 E. Green St., Chicago, IL 

12/13/2005 MOTION TO VACATE BOND FORF. Officer: JONES Officer Badge #: 53 Arresting Agency: CPD 
Smith, Gerald T. 

12/13/2005 BOND FORFEITURE VACATED Count Class Type Statute Arrest Charge Description 
Smith, Gerald T. [1] A M 720 ILCS 5/12-3 Battery 

Sentence Date: 

Arrest or 
Case 

Number 

Arresting Agency Charge Date of Arrest Outcome Completion of 
Sentence 

(Date) 

12/13/2005 STRICKEN OFF – LEAVE REINSTATE C001 COURT CHARGES/ DISPOSITION 
Smith, Gerald T. Statute Charge Class Case# 

720 ILCS 5/12-3 BATTERY M 05121978901 
Disposition: SOL Disposition  Date: 13-DEC-2005 
Sentence: 

Sample Case Worksheet: 

1 05121978901 Chicago Police 
Department 

Battery 11/4/2005 Stricken off with leave to 
reinstate n/a 

Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
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Sample County Court Disposition (Not Cook County): Sample Illinois State Police RAP Sheet: 

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE ELEVENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT 
FORD COUNTY, ILLINOIS 

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, ) 

Class A Misdemeanor 

ILLINOIS STATE POLICE 
Bureau of Identification 

260 North Chicago Street 

Plaintiff, ) Joliet, IL 60432-4075 
vs ) No. 09- CM-117 

Jane Doe ) Criminal History Of: Doe, Jane State Identification #: IL 9876543 
Defendant ) (Last Known Name) 

Conviction Status: MISDEMEANOR CONVICTION 
JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE Custodial Status: 

OF PROBATION/COURT SUPERVISION/CONDITIONAL DISCHARGE 
Alias Name(s) Date of Birth 

The case coming on for sentencing, Defendant (having pled guilty of) DOE, JANE 01/13/1981 
(having been found guilty of) (having had probation, supervision, or 
conditional discharge received for ) the offense(s) of: SUBJECT IDENTIFICATION DATA 

Unlawful Possession of Drug Paraphernalia Sex: FEMALE 
Race: WHITE 

and a Presentence Report having been (prepared) (waived) and hearing Height: 5’4” Date Reported: 10/23/2009 FBI#: 
in aggravation and mitigation (held) (waived); The Court finds there is a Weight: 105 Date Reported: 10/23/2009 Chicago IR#: 
factual basis for a factual basis for a finding of guilty. The Court further Eyes: BLUE 
finds that imprisonment in the Illinois Department of Corrections is not Hair: BLACK 
necessary for the protection of the public, and the following sentence Skin: MEDIUM 
does not deprecate the seriousness of the Defendant’s conduct and is 
consistent with the ends of justice. 

Scars/Marks/Tattoos Place of Birth Driver’s License # DL State 
ACCORDINGLY IT IS THE ORDER OF THIS COURT, that the TAT L LEG ILLINOIS K1234567899 IL 
Defendant is placed on (probation) (court supervision) (conditional 
discharge) for a period of 12 (years) (months) (days) subject 

Arrest or 
Case 

Number 

Arresting Agency Charge Date of Arrest Outcome 
Completion of 

Sentence (Date) 

CRIMINAL HISTORY DATA 
to the following conditions: Arrest 

DCN: P129393 Date of Arrest: 10/23/2009 
THE DEFENDANT SHALL: Name: DOE, JANE Date of Birth: 01/13/1981 

Residence: 123 N. Main St. Melvin, IL 
GS (X) 1. not violate any criminal statute of any jurisdiction; 

. . . Arresting Agency: FORD COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE 
GS (X) 8. pay a fine of $ 750 ; court costs of . . . Agency Case Number: 1234567 Officer Badge Number: 008 

and Probation (Supervision) fees in the amount of 
$ 25 per month; Arrest Charges 

. . . Count Statute Citation Literal Description Class 
This case is continued to 12/17/10 except for review or 1 720 ILCS 600/3.5 Poss. Of Drug Paraphernalia CM 

remission hearings. 
State’s Attorney Section 

ENTER: 12/17 , 20 09 Gerald T. Smith Filing Decision: FILED Decision Date: 10/23/2009 
JUDGE Count Statute Citation Literal Description Class 

1 720 ILCS 600/3.5 Poss. Of Drug Paraphernalia CM 
TERMINATION DATE: 12/17 , 20 10 Agency Name: FORD COUNTY STATE’S ATTORNEY 

Court Charges/Disposition 
Count Statute Citation Literal Description Class 
1 720 ILCS 600/3.5 Poss. Of Drug Paraphernalia CM 
Disposition: PROBATION Disposition Date: 12/17/2010 

Case Number: 09CM117 
Agency Name: FORD COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT 

Sample Case Worksheet: 

1 09-CM-117 Ford County 
Sheriff’s Office 

Unlawful Possession 
of Drug Paraphernalia 10/23/2009 

Probation 12/17/2010 

Find Illinois Supreme Court approved forms at: http://www.illinoiscourts.gov/Forms/approved/. 
GC-I 2402.2 Page 9 of 10 (03/18) 



     
    

 

  
 

    
     

  
    

    

       
      

 
    

  
 

 

   
  

 

  
   
     

   
   

    

     

     
      

      
   

   
  

   
  

  
   

   
 

 
    

  
 

   
     

  
 

    

 
 

  
   

    
  

 
  

 

   
   

    
 

     
 

How do I know if I was “convicted” of an offense? o If you see the disposition for your offense on Table 2 
The disposition (outcome) of the offense on your record below, you were convicted of that offense but you 
tells you if you were convicted or not. The tables below have an exception. 
explain what the disposition codes or descriptions on your o If you see the disposition for your offense listed on 
record mean and if you were convicted or not. Table 3 below, you were convicted of that offense. 
o	 If you see the disposition for your offense on Table 1 

below, you were not convicted for that offense. 

Look at all of the entries in the “Outcome” column of your Case Worksheet. Are there any convictions on your 
record? 

Table 1: These dispositions/outcomes mean that you were NOT convicted: 
Code Disposition More Information 
FNPC Finding of No Probable Cause The court dismissed the case because it decided that there was no probable cause 

(reason) to believe that you had committed the offense that you were accused of. 

FNG Found Not Guilty The court decided you were not guilty of the offense you were charged with. 

RWOC Released without Charging You were arrested but not charged with an offense or brought to court. 

Nolle prosequi The state stopped prosecuting your case and the court dismissed the case. 

Non-suit In an Ordinance Violation case, the local municipal attorney has the option to bring 
the case back up again. If they do not, the case is considered dismissed. 

SOL Stricken off with leave to reinstate The State has the option to bring the case back up again. If they do not within 120 – 
160 days, the case is considered dismissed. 

Court supervision, completed successfully The court kept your case open for a set period of time, and because you followed all of 
the conditions during that time, the court dismissed the criminal charges against you. 

Successfully completed First Offender 
Drug Probation or Qualified Probation 

This type of probation can also be called 410, 710, 1410, or TASC probation when 
the court determines the arrest was a result of alcohol or drug addiction, and must 
be reflected in the record. You can tell if you received this special type of probation 
by the court disposition. 

Disposition/Sentence More Information 
Table 2: These dispositions/outcomes mean that you were convicted, but there is a special situation: 

The court originally decided you were guilty of an offense, but then reviewed your case 
and decided you were not guilty, or the court cancelled the original finding of guilt. 

Guilty/Conviction Reversed or Vacated 

The court found you guilty of an offense, but the Governor granted you a pardon that 
allows the expungement of your criminal record. 
You petitioned the Prisoner Review Board and were given eligibility to erase a 
conviction from your criminal record. 

Guilty/Conviction with a Pardon from the Governor 

Guilty/Conviction with a Certificate of Eligibility for 
Expungement from the Prisoner Review Board 

Table 3: These dispositions/outcomes mean that you were convicted: 
Disposition/Sentence More Information 

The court determined that you committed the offense. The time you spent in jail 
waiting for the court to hear your case was considered your sentence. 

Time Considered Served 

The court determined you committed the offense. You were sentenced to time in jail 
or prison. Department of Corrections (jail) 

IDOC (Illinois Department of Corrections) or County 

The court determined you committed the offense. You were sentenced to meet 
certain conditions and if you did not you would be resentenced. 

Conditional Discharge 

Probation (not Qualified Probation) The court determined you committed the offense. You were sentenced to report to a 
Probation Officer. 
The court determined you committed the offense. You were sentenced to pay a fine. Fine (without court supervision) 
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